February’s personal bread challenge was a pretty open one, Jenny and I both decided we wanted something simple because of our schedules so we settled on pizza.

I’ve made thin crust pizzas before but never attempted a deep dish style so after getting confirmation that others would eat one I picked out the King Arthur Flour Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza recipe. Since I don’t own a large deep dish pizza pan a 12″ cake pan worked as a substitute plus I had enough dough leftover for a small 6″ mini pizza.

The addition of cornmeal to the crust added a great crunch to the dough without having to bake the pizza forever plus the combination of olive oil and butter gave the crust a nice flavor.

Of course no deep dish pizza would be complete without toppings. I loaded mine up with pepperoni, sweet italian sausage, onions, mushrooms and lots and lots of mozzarella. Lots of mozzarella.

