I can’t recall ever having to write or give speeches about what I did during the summer as a kid so this seems a little odd to me. FYI for the summers we didn’t spend living out of suitcases for 6+ weeks I spent a lot of time bored out of my mind. Kids where  I grew up didn’t get summer jobs, we didn’t have camp and the English TV stations didn’t miraculously start programming earlier than their usual 4pm (Sesame Street).

College summers were spent working and going to school, about the same as the rest of the school year only more work, less school. Highly exciting stuff. Then you graduate and summers off are a thing of the past.

This summer was different.

See that big pile of fiber filled totes? That is what I spent my summer doing (well ok technically it was only about 5-6 weeks of work there). I spent 4 solid weeks living and breathing handpainted fiber whenever I wasn’t at work. I then spent 2 weeks slapping labels on those suckers and cursing while I tried to learn a new piece of software.

Why all that fiber?

Oregon Flock & Fiber Festival 2009.

Other than realizing that what looked like an INSANE amount of fiber in my house/car really looks like so little in a booth I had a great time. Whether the friends who were so wonderful to come with me as moral support are still speaking to me remains to be seen. I “may” have been a “little” stressed in the week leading up to it and especially over the weekend.

I had a wonderful time the first time I went to OFFF in 2007 and it was only fitting it was the first festival I got a booth at. There were so many things I learned about what I wanted to do and what I wouldn’t do again. Seeing all the other booths from a different perspective as a another vendor rather than customer was a new experience for me. I saw displays and setups I loved and others I knew wouldn’t work for me.

I got to meet great people and even entered the bunny section of the barn for a few minutes (I made sure I had my inhaler close at hand). I found 2 shetland sheep that I need to email about their fleeces, got to see how scratching one of them under his chin made his tail wag vigorously plus I watched a couple sheep get a little nekkid in what seemed like seconds.

I fondled a skein of white alpaca and silk yarn that inspired me to make plans for my silver alpaca fleece and perhaps even the 2 llama ones as well. I bought a few skeins of STR for a shawl and a couple braids of merino/tencel roving from a booth I had seen at Sock Summit. I managed to NOT buy an electric Duncan drumcarder which was a huge temptation.

Oh and when I got back….I launched the new Dragonfibers shop here. The Etsy shop will not be going away but the majority of my shop updates will be at the new store. It allows me so much more flexibility and control so despite the seriously steep learning curve for a person who would really rather not learn that stuff it will all be worth it in the end.

