Last week started off strong despite the frantic last minute cleaning before Sobeknofret showed up so we could make the trek down to Sock Summit. Once I got her to promise not to open any closets or drawers the ‘cleaning’ went surprisingly fast 🙂

I took her to my favorite ID dim sum place (Jade Garden) and then showed her the wonderful cheese case at Big John’s PFI. I seriously have dreams about that cheese case.

We settled in for the evening with some cider and steak and tried to go to sleep despite our excitement over Sock Summit. After picking up the spiffy rental car with the GPS who hated me we were off. I just have to say I LOVE the whole push button car start thing. I’ve never driven one before and while it seems silly to love it that much I found it far too entertaining.

Classes were of course excellent, Chrissy Gardiner is as always a great teacher and after my sock spinning class with Judith Mackensie-McCuin on Sunday I have vowed to take her Wheel Mechanics class sometime soon.

The marketplace was an overload of colors and fibers. Everywhere you looked there was something pretty to touch. I was a little neurotic and marked on my map the booths I HAD to visit that first night and managed to do all but a little of my shopping in those 2 hours.

My first purchase was Size 2 and 3 Knitpro interchangeble tips that fit the Knitpicks cords. I have no clue why we can’t get these sizes in the US so I picked them up at YarnWorkshop. They are based in Hong Kong and were wonderful to talk to, I even noticed from their street address that I used to just live down the street from them but figured that might come across as a little stalkerish to mention that fact.

Before I knew it I had hit the Miss Babs booth (damn it was hard to chose just one yarn), the Holiday Yarns booth (where I got sucked in by a beautiful color and silly name), Three Irish Girls where I pawed my way through a box before changing my mind while waiting in line to pay because of what the woman in front of me was buying (I have her rav and etsy info somewhere in my bag). I made my way to the BMFA booth to check out their millends…you know…just in case… Finally I hit up the Ms Gusset booth where I picked up some wonderful Polworth/Silk roving and on the second day it was on to the Unique Sheep where I found their Verve Gradient yarn in their special Sock Summit Descent colorway.

I spent all but about 50 cents of my yarn budget and I love everything I got. There were so many other vendors I wanted to shop at but all I could do was look and make notes for later.

The trip was wonderful, the friends were great (especially J & L for opening up their home for 5 days) and as always the food was amazing.

But going to Sock Summit was just the icing on the wonderful cake that was last week. After 8 long months of being one of the unemployed/partly employed I was offered a contract job the day before I left for Portland. It’s with a company I have long wanted to work for and it’s back doing what I used to do. The timing and the opportunity made going away to Sock Summit even more enjoyable. Sadly it does mean my time at the LYS has come to an end but that is probably better for my stash anyway 🙂 Tomorrow I once again join the ranks of the employed if only for a short while.

I think things are looking up.

