In my family we don’t typically go all out for birthday (or even Christmas) presents although my sister’s gift this year definitely doesn’t fit the norm. So each year no matter what I tend to get myself a little gift for my birthday. Last year was the Seasocks cruise which was anything but little but totally worth every penny. I think one year I bought my beloved Wustof chef knife that no one else is allowed to use.

This year I decided on a little fiber gift.

Grafton Fibers Colorways shipment for May. 

I’ve been eyeing the Grafton Fiber batts for at least a year now, when I first found out about them they seemed harder to find than today. Since they are in Vermont I’ve never heard of them making their way West for any fiber shows. I was on their website in early May trying to decide on a batt I liked when I spotted the Colorways membership. For only $20 a month I could get a surprise batt in the mail, at that price it was cheaper than their normal batts and since it’s paid monthly if I hate it I can cancel at any time.

When I signed up though I thought I had missed the cutoff date for May so I wasn’t expecting the shipment for this month.

Check out those colors. It’s one huge corriedale batt weighing in at 4oz and I have absolutely no idea what I’m going to do with it. There was a great little pamphlet included with the batt showing what the folks at Grafton Fibers had spun up with their batt along with a tutorial on making it into a felted bowl. I love the extra info that they provided.

I can’t stop looking at all the pretty colors.

