I’ve lived in the Seattle area for almost 11 years now (will offically be 11 years on my birthday in a few weeks) and yet in all that time I’ve never once made it up to the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival. Tulips are one of my favorite flowers, right up there with irises and somehow I have never made the 60 mile trip north to check out the monthlong festival before.

Since I have typically been employed for most of the last 11 years the only time I was free to go to the festival was on the weekends. My dislike for crowds (ah the irony when you consider where I grew up) pretty much ruled out any weekend visits. Since I am still part of the evergrowing legions of unemployed right now I figured this was as good of a time as any to go on a weekday.

Turns out I picked the perfect day to go.

Check out that stunning clear blue sky. 

Mom and I wandered around a couple fields, took lots of pictures (I took 177 apparently) and came home with 50 cut tulips for the dining table and demolished a bag of kettlekorn. All in all it was a great day and having the freedom in my schedule to do it right now felt wonderful.

