The need to cast on for a new project got too strong last night.

It’s an incredibly wonderful blend of superwash merino, cashmere and nylon. At almost 530 yards for 4oz it is one hell of a deal too. It’s a new yarn that I’m testing out, so far the dyeing is great, the finished yarn feels wonderful and now I’m roadtesting the knitting of a pair of socks.

Since my knitting is always a little loose I’m working these on 00 needles but for most people I think 0-1 needles would be just fine. I’m also getting 9st/inch and they are still very pettable socks. Granted there is only a toe right now but I think this is going to work out well.

Oddly enough I haven’t taken any pictures of the Dream Swatch yet but it is about 50% done. The Panda Cotton was a good choice for the pattern and the Strawberry and Lime colorway isn’t nearly as obnoxious as it sounds 🙂

In other news…

I learned to weave this past weekend. A couple of friends signed up for the Weaving Works rigid heddle class and we had so much fun. Only one of us actually has a loom so the rest of us have to save up our pennies. We all made scarves using handdyed yarn from our instructor and I combined mine with some Lambs Pride worsted in Blue Heirloom. The photo is pre-washing so now it is much softer and has fluffed up a bit.  Now I just need to figure out how to squeeze weaving into my already full fiber arts arsenal.

For now though…I’m off to continue knitting on the really wonderful cashmere sock. Seriously every now and then I catch myself just stroking the sock. I’m pretty certain that is weird.