Taking a weekend trip out of town to visit friends and leaving your knitting bag on your bed at home.

I was sitting at the Burgerville in Centralia WA (yes I know it is just a fast food place but we don’t have them in Seattle) when I realized my knitting wasn’t in my purse. I finished lunch and checked my overnight bag…no knitting. Panic set in and thankfully logic prevailed and I didn’t drive the 90 miles back home just to get a sock project.

My first stop in Portland was Knit/Purl. For some reason I expected a larger shop but everything they had in there was high quality and excellent yarn. I looked around for a project I could start while there but nothing called out to me. I was ready to leave empty handed when I noticed a couple of shelves and a Habu label. I don’t think any shop in Seattle carries Habu (although I could be wrong) so I picked up a little something for my stash. I of course forgot to take pictures of everything but will show you what I got next time. 

After Knit/Purl I went in search of Yarnia. Google maps failed me and I finally made my way to the shop after taking a couple random guesses on which direction to turn. Once there I picked out some yarn for Betty before heading over to visit my friends. I would have lingered longer but I think you have to be in the right frame of mind to come up with a yarn combo and I just wasn’t there. It felt overwhelming to try and choose.

Once at L & J’s house I got to meet their new roomies.

Dors and

Pumpkin.

6 month old medium and long haired sisters. Cute as can be and way more energetic than my two boys. Who knew a twistie tie could provide hours upon hours of entertainment.

On Saturday evening we went to visit their friends (Kelle is a fellow Raveler) and I came away with what looked like half a Prius full of Shetland fleeces. I can’t wait to open up the bags and pick out all the great bits to spin up. Both Ginger and Betty have called dibs on some of the fleece so all I have to do is pass on Kelle’s request that she get to see pictures of the finished projects. I think I grabbed all the bags of the silver shetland because the color and crimp was just beautiful.

Then to finish off a great weekend both L & J took me to the Yarn Garden (yet another Portland yarn shop). Anyplace that offers coffee, tea and yarn is a place I want to be. I loved the store and will definitely go back there again.

I’m now back home and the mountain of undyed sock yarn is staring me in the face. The sock yarn needs to go out the door before it can be replaced by undyed lace yarn and massive piles of rovings.

