I have chores again now that I’m living at home. Granted it isn’t any different than living on your own only this time your Dad gets to tell you to sweep and vacuum the floors 🙂

In between cleaning spurts I baked.

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies from Tartlette. It’s a new to me blog and I’ve been revelling in the alluring food photos. The only tweaks I made was adding a tsp of vanilla and a 1/2tsp of kosher salt since my butter was unsalted. I used my Extra Brut cocoa and the TJ’s Bittersweet chocolate so these cookies are definitely for the dark chocolate fans. The Extra Brut cocoa is a lot stronger than the lighter brown grocery store brand and the rolled oats give the cookies a nice chewy/nutty feel. Definitely a keeper and I even goofed and put in baking powder instead of baking soda.

I couldn’t wait till Amused was completely dry before trying it on and taking a picture.

It fits! I will have to wait a few days before I can get a daylight photo of the sweater. The color is really quite nice and indoor pictures just never look right. 

There has been knitting since Amused was finished but nothing new. I’ve decided to pick up the Moderne Log Cabin Blanket again and much to my horror I was only 1/3 of the way through section 5. I thought for sure I was in section 6 or 7.  Before starting on another larger project I will only have the blanket and the sock on the needles.

Finishing the blanket in 2009 will automatically get me to my Stashdown goal so you can see why I’m motivated to finish it up. Besides I can’t consider making my Dad a new lap blanket to replace the horribly felted one (I wasn’t there to stop it going in the dryer) until I finish my own blanket. Thank God for Tivo and all those saved NCIS episodes, they are perfect for mindless knitting.

