I started off the year with 222 balls of yarn in the stash and by January 3rd I was down 1 full ball but somehow mysteriously my Sugar n Cream stash doubled thanks to a Christmas gift from Jen.  It’s a good thing I like her and since I can’t buy yarn right now I’m certainly not going to complain if people want to buy it for me.

I spent New Years Day casting on for Amused from the Winter 08 Knitty. It was the first thing in the magazine that caught my attention and wouldn’t you know it I had a yarn already sitting in the stash. I had picked up 20 balls of Needful Yarns London Tweed in Mallard back in October because not only was it a killer price but I’d been pondering a tweedy cardigan/sweater for a while now.

Doesn’t look like much huh? The color is way off in that pic since I forgot to take a photo during the day. So far I’m almost 3 balls into the sweater and it’s slow going for me. I’m not used to knitting aran weight yarn and in order to get gauge I’m on size 6 needles (pattern calls for 9’s but I apparently knit superloose). Plus all the sweaters I’ve knit so far and in fact most of my recent knitting has been lovely soft/silky/drapey yarns so working with a durable tweed is a huge tactile change for me. The pattern is easy so far and I just make sure not to try knit too much in a day and switch back and forth between the sweater and my latest socks.

Speaking of socks…

First FO of 2009! This is with a new 2ply merino that I’m going to be carrying soon through Dragonfibers. Super squishy with some nice stitch definition. I wanted to try out the hybrid heel I learned at SeaSocks 08 so this was a good time to try it out. I waffled over the cuff patterning and couldn’t find an all-over pattern that I liked and would work with the 56st sock. I ended up modifying a vertical lace pattern I found and I think it works well. A very subtle sock but just what I wanted. 

In other random news. I have made a tough decision that deep down I know is the right one for now. Due to my continued unemployment and problems with being approved for state benefits I have decided to move in with my parents. It is a short-term solution but makes the most sense for me even though the idea of living with my parents again scares the crap out of me. My yarn is coming with me because damn it I need my security blanket!

