It’s been brought to my attention (by knitters and non-knitters alike) that I live surrounded by yarn and fiber. While I personally don’t think I don’t have nearly as much as other people I do have to admit it is getting a little out of control.

The problem with destashing is I like almost all of my yarn and fiber and don’t want to sell it so what am I to do?

There are various stashdown ideas floating around for 2009.

There is no way I’m signing up for NaKniSweMoDo because at my current rate I’m lucky to finish a sweater every two months so aiming for one a month is just madness.

in the Ravelry Stash Knit Down 2009 group there is the 100 ball challenge , the 52 in 52 challenge and a slightly less scary 24 Projects.

Then there is the simpler challenge of finishing the year with less yarn than you started with (possibly balls or by weight).

What should I do? The 100 ball challenge works out to be about 11lbs of yarn if you figure 50gm balls. It also works out to be about a ball of yarn every 3-4 days. Not sure if I can handle that kind of pressure. Plus what would actually prevent me from just buying more (other than common sense)?

I need to round up all the stash and document how much I have before I can set any sort of realistic yet challenging goals for 2009. I’m thinking the spinning stash needs a little pruning too.

Please comment and tell me what you think?

