You are looking at 64 packages of Ramen yarn that is set to be delivered to Little Knits today. Yes….64 skeins. 14 colorways. Lots and lots of rameny heaven just waiting to be bought.Ā 

What is really sad is how long it took for me to get this order completed. I’ve never had a wholesale order take this long and while part of it is due to the labor intensive production of Ramen a much bigger part was due to non-Dragonfibers life going a little crazeeee.

I now no longer feel like I’m on the verge of being fired from my ‘real’ job (and yes that felt like a very real possibility for a while). Work chaos with a trial client made August and September a living breathing spreadsheet upon conflicting spreadsheet nightmare..and that wasn’t even taking into consideration the people management aspect of the project. I had a mini respite with my lovely vacation down to ABQ and then it was back to the same old shit. Needless to say I’ve now had to resort to taking official lunch breaks where I leave my office so there is more ‘clarity’ about when I’m at work vs surfing the web on break time. Sigh.

I made my way through the pie-bake with most of my nerves intact yet I also spent a ridiculously long time agonizing over what kind of greeting card you send to a relative dying of cancer (Get Well Soon doesn’t really apply).

All in all it’s been a frustrating couple of months but the good news is I think it’s evening out. I hesitate to say things are getting better because quite frankly that is just asking for trouble. I’m aiming for a more consistent yet lower level of stress for the remainder of the year. I’ve decided to view the impending holidays that will be spent alone due to family being everywhere but here as a good thing. I always get stressed when cooking for Thanksgiving and Christmas even though it really isn’t hard. A few years ago I almost stopped 15 minutes before Christmas dinner was ready because the urge to scream and tell the family they could make their own f’ing Christmas dinner was so strong. (FYI if I ever cook a big meal for you I don’t recommend coming into the kitchen every 5 minutes bitching about how hungry you are-it really annoys me)

So what am I doing with myself now that Ramen production has ceased?

There has been FLS knitting. A very small amount mind you since Ramen was JUST finished. The body is done and now I’m onto sleeve #1. Based on the amount of yarn I have left and how the body fits I think I will do full length sleeves rather than the 3/4 version in the pattern.

There has been cooking. Grilled Teriyaki Beef with rice and baby bok choi. This was a test recipe from Cooks Illustrated and definitely a keeper. I found the sauce a tad too sweet but that is easily fixed and the marinade had some great flavor to it. I even tried this out on chicken wings and damn that was tasty.

There has also been some kittylove.

Life is getting better.

