I had grand plans on documenting every day of Ravelympics. Then reality kicked in and the day job made it all but impossible to focus on knitting and dyeing. I swear I’ve been knitting although it hasn’t been everyday.

The Jayne Hat Tea Cozy is finished and has been used to great success. I ran a little experiment with the cozy to see if it required another round of felting to acheive optimum heat-retention. I filled my teapot with boiling water, inserted my thermometer into the spout and set a timer for every 10 minutes. I would check the temp every 10 minutes for half an hour and marked it down. Then I waited for the pot to cool down and repeated the process only this time I used the cozy. Over a 30 minute period my tea was over 20F hotter with the cozy than without. Success!

There has been Sakura Shawl progress but quite honestly it looks exactly the same only slightly larger. I am however partway through repeat 15 and the Ravelympics goal was to finish repeat 16. Totally within reach! However the growing shawl has fallen prey to the inevitable….it is now too big to fit in my purse so it is no longer bus knitting. Granted at the size it was I was only able to knit 2 rows on the ride into work in the morning so progress wasn’t that fast anyway. The shawl is now relegated to home/weekend knitting. Part of me is tempted to knock out that last 1.5 repeats tonight to get that project off my list. Yet something else caught my attention.

Yarntini Semi-Solid sock in Gin.

I did a little retail therapy last week because of work and quite honestly I’m pretty sure retail therapy is healthier for me in the long run than binge drinking (which was tempting btw). So when Sobe told me that Sonny & Shear got a new shipment of Yarntini I clicked right over to check it out. Yarn with Booze names!!! How could I resist?

Gin and Lemon Drop arrived at my office yesterday and I’m not ashamed to admit that I pulled out the skeins several times yesterday to sniff and pet them. It was that kind of work day and I needed the love. I knew that once I got home one of them was getting wound up and cast on, it needed to happen damn it!

It might not look like much but damn it is nice yarn. I picked a simple pattern (Nutkin) that is ridiculously easy to remember and cast on. I’m pretty certain I’m working on 00 needles to get gauge but I’m not 100% certain what size the hot pink Susan Bates sock needles are.

There has been one project that won’t get to compete in Ravelympics (can a WIP fail a drug test?). My Sockotta socks that have languished for the last month at the heel turn have been disqualified. Once I really looked at why they had failed to become socks by now I realized it was because I just didn’t care for the yarn. I’ve worked with it before and didn’t hate it but this time around the colors failed to inspire me like the last pair (incidentally those were a pair I knit as a gift). I tried telling myself all I had to do was finish that one sock but then I realized I was trying to force myself to finish sock #1 of a pair. There is no way sock #2 would ever be cast on. So that Sockotta yarn will be frogged and offered up as part of my destash in the near future.

As for Stacy…she is still in pieces. I need a solid chunk of time to sit down and seam her up but I spent all of this past Sunday dyeing roving….11lbs of roving. By the time I got done I was exhausted and I still had to steam all of it. The little heatwave we had this weekend did not make this a pleasant experience.

This past week I was also reminded about why it’s a good thing I knit. I get to spend all of the 26th in a car with my boss and 2 others from work as we head up to BC for an afternoon meeting with a new client. Yes I get to spend about 6+ hours round-trip in the car with nothing to do except knit. It is probably the only time I can officially be on the clock and knit at work 🙂

Let’s face it, if you were in my position would you rather talk to your boss for 6 hours in the car or focus on your knitting?

I thought so.

