After finishing Beaker last week I got the craving to continue spinning. I’m not sure how long this knitting hiatus is supposed to last but it’s been 2 weeks now and I’ve found that spinning doesn’t bother me at all. The numbness in my hands still comes and goes but definitely not at the same frequency or severity as before.

I planned on trying to continue the bus sock knitting this morning but alas at some point in time the 5th dpn managed to escape from the bag. I wasn’t in the mood to rearrange everything onto 3 needles and go from there so everything went back into the purse and I tried to wake up while listening to Bon Jovi Living on a Prayer. If you think that is a dated cheesy music choice…I listened to Def Leppard on the way home 🙂

Anyway, back to the fiber. I think in a previous post I mentioned getting to know my drum carder so I ordered some superwash merino, a bunch of tussah silk and some nylon. I wanted to make luxury sock batts. Something superwash but with the strength from the nylon and the shine and silkiness of tussah (I also tossed in bamboo). There was dyeing and then one round of batts were carded up and they looked oh so lovely.

 

Since I couldn’t very well pass up the chance to try it out (lets call it the QA Process) I started spinning. I was aiming for a 3ply fingering weight but considering my past attempts at that I wasn’t hopeful.

Holy crap I was wrong. I’m not sure how much of it was my determination to really see what the batts could spin up like or maybe for one I was actually paying attention but I did it!

4oz, 3 ply 338 yards of superwash merino, tussah silk, bamboo, nylon and a little firestar. It’s over 30% silk and bamboo so it has a great sheen. I’m hoping these will become some socks very soon.

I am itching to make more batts, it has been a plan of mine to eventually introduce something like this to the shop and hopefully that will happen soon. I figure that if I had a pretty easy time getting a good sock yarn out of these batts then a more experienced spinner should have no problems. The batts are definitely time consuming just because I’m dyeing everything myself but I like that I get to be involved in every step of the process (minus the silk worms and sheep shearing).

Since there hasn’t been any knitting lately I decided to do a little baking last week.

Pecan Sticky Buns. Damn these were good. I made a double batch to take to work and then made another batch for the Saturday knitting group. I think they were liked by all.

I did manage to get a little sidetracked at Jo*nns this weekend and while I can justify all my purchases as being on sale there is one in particular I wanted to show off. It was still $14 even after the 30% off but I couldn’t resist.

A sheep planter!!! With feet!!! It’s totally dorky and cheesy but he was too cute to leave there. Nicki will probably like a little cat grass this summer and there is funny sort of appeal in being able to watch him attack the grass from the back of smiling ceramic sheep.

