It started off all so innocently, I was 1 pattern repeat away from starting the toe decreases on the pomatomus socks so when I headed out to Saturday knitting I grabbed 2 balls of yarn. I knew I wanted to cast on the next sock right away and I also knew I was too lazy (and late) to pull out the skeiner and ballwinder. So 2 balls of commercial sock yarn made it into the bag. 

I’m not sure if maybe knowing the next pair was waiting to be cast on but damn I finished the Smooshy Pomatomus socks!!!

I love this yarn and the pattern, heck now that I am done I kind of wish I wasn’t done if you know what I mean. The yarn (Dream in Color Smooshy) was wonderful to work with and even on size 1 needles it gave a firm yet very smooshy fabric. The pattern looks WAY harder than it really is and I’m glad I decided to try my hand at it because I will definitely knit it again one day.

Then came the decision. Which yarn to knit next? I of course deferred to Ginger who I seem to rely on for many of my decision making choices lately and the yarn I was leaning towards won.

It is Lana Grossa Stile in color 8005. It is mostly white, grey, black and a little lavendar. Very subtle and elegant so these are dubbed My Grown-Up Socks. I’m going to start my practice of just knitting socks for the sake of knitting socks so these will be basic toe-up stockingnette socks. 

I’ve been wanting to knit this yarn for a couple reasons, firstly when it first came in I liked the simplicity of the colors. So many of my sock yarns are colorful that I realized I didn’t have anything more subdued. Secondly I’m pretty certain that everyone in the Sat knitting group left with the same color that day so I’m just waiting for the day when we all show off our finished socks in the exact same yarn. I think it will be great to see what each of us do with it.

In case you were wondering what that bright yellow sticker was…apparently my yarn comes with catnip. I’m assuming that at some point since the yarn made it’s way home from VY&T I bought a new cat toy and I guess the yarn was a handy place to stick the label. I seem to lack the ability to put labels in the trash (and yes right now I have 6 labels from the Glow Sheep stuck to my computer desk).

Now something horrible did happen at knitting today. We were all sitting there knitting, drinking our tea and basically pretending like we know how to act in public (we sometimes fail miserably at the latter) when Victoria rolled in a giant box on a hand truck. I’m talking about a box about the size that computers USED to come in.

“What is that?” I asked…

“Kauni”

(insert the sound of stampeding knitters)

Um yeah it was bad. Terri grabbed the rainbow colorway she had been looking for and oh man the plans she has for it…..I can’t wait.  I’m pretty certain Annie picked up a really pretty deep pink to purple combo. I picked up one color and then another. Back and forth I went trying to decide on a color when I spotted another bag with a colorway that morphed from a lilac to blue/green to reddish purples and back to lilac.

I have no idea what I am going to do with it but I couldn’t resist. I got WAY more than I need because I knew 45ograms wouldn’t be enough so now I have almost 600gms. Enough for probably a sweater and a hat and mittens.

I am going to blame the very delicious homemade Boozy Blueberry jam that Ginger brought in for my Kauni purchase 🙂

