This Friday I managed to tear myself away from the impending pie extravaganza for an evening at VY&T and their monthly Knit Nite. I don’t get to go to many because quite frankly come Friday night all I typically want to do is go home and decompress.

It was a particularly brutal day at work that was compounded by the dreaded feeling of getting sick. Made a quick trip to the drugstore for some vitamins and meds which when combined gave me a rather unsettling woozy warm fuzzy feeling for a few hours. Feeling fuzzy and loopy does not do wonders for productivity on a busy work day. I made it through with a sprint towards the end in order to leave a little early.  By then I was determined to go to Knit Nite damn it!

Why so eager? Because they had the Fleece Artist dyer there! And her daughter the Handmaiden dyer! OMG there were so many nice yarns…I really wanted a skein of Great Big Sea because I’m a big fan of the band (and yes it was named after them) but I resisted. The huge Knitpicks order I placed this morning might have been a good deterrent.

There was knitting, there was wine and there was cheese. All very good things IMO. Then there was a contest. They had 5 undyed skeins of yarn we needed to match up to the tags and 2 bonus skeins to compare. I was one of the 5 who guessed all 7 skeins correctly. I got the neatest stitch marker set as a prize.

I’m lucky they didn’t have any roving at the trunk show or I would have been a goner.

I got a great mystery package in the mail this past week. I had apparently won a contest on Momma Monkey’s blog (yes silly me didn’t even realize I had entered one) and she sent me some seriously squishy batts.

She calls it Waikiki Beach and if I remember correctly it is merino, firestar and silk noils that she dyed and carded up. I had 2 people request knitted items from it but I think it might have to be saved for myself. Thanks MM!

This year we had a very successful pie fundraiser, 118 pies and over $1100 raised for our community garden! I love the pie baking but damn every year it reminds me why I don’t do this for a living anymore. I made the mistake of lying down for 5-10 minutes after getting home and I’m ashamed to admit I almost couldn’t get out of bed. Maybe I’ve been working a desk job for too long but I wanted to cry from the pain of getting up and down stairs. I’m not that old damn it!

I have some big plans on the fiber front though. This weekend is all about fiber because I’ve been neglecting my etsy shop and I am finally at a point where I can get back into the swing of things. I’ve got so much fiber I’m really starting to get scared.

Now I’m off to go knit because the massive KnitPicks order is on it’s way and I have certain projects that must be completed before it’s arrival. Let the madness begin! (again)

