I’m going to go off on a tangent here and talk about another obsession of mine…baking.

Many years ago back when I was just a fresh young kid of 24 I decided I would quit my stock photography job and go to culinary school. It has always been a dream of mine to open a bakery and I figured what the hell why not try it out. So one year later I had my shiny new pastry certification in hand and was already in my second job as a baker/pastry chef. Fast forward a few years and after getting fed up with the low pay and shitty hours I left that industry to go back to stock photography. Eventually I made my way into the job I have now where I don’t get to bake or look at pretty pictures all day.

While the dream of owning my own bakery hasn’t been realized yet despite getting oh so close once or twice I still love to bake. I don’t get as much done as I used to mostly because of my job, other hobbies and the inability to eat that many baked goods. Every once in a while I get the urge to bake again and thanks to Sharon who directed me to a spinning/bread blog today I am feeling the urge again.

I am seriously debating taking Oct 16th off of work to celebrate World Bread Day which might not go over well with the boss if I fess up to the reason. Ginger said I could call it a religious holiday and then the debate started on what kind of Bakerist I am. Am I a Fundamentalist , a Conservative, or a Reformist? Ginger says a fundamentalist would always grind their own flour, a reformist never would. Does using that flour mill in Central Market once make me a conservative?

Obviously I have way too much time on my hands if these are the issues I debate while at work. I did manage to sneak over to the bookstore across the street while wandering around for lunch and snagged a copy of Home Cheese Making by Ricki Carroll. It is from the people at New England Cheesemaking Company and I plan on ordering a kit from them soon.

Why cheese? Well because if I’m going to make bread it makes sense to make cheese too right? Actually I just love cheese and while I have made mozzarella once before I like the idea of making other cheeses too. I’m getting visions of fresh homemade goat cheese with warm hunks of homemade bread. How can I not try it out?

Who wants to be a guinea pig?

