On the way home from work today I swung by the Chinese market near my house. I walked out with this.

steamer

I now have a GIANT steamer for my roving. It is about 14″ across and who knows how tall.

cat food steamer

Cat food can for size comparison (and yes I am well aware there are ‘better’ cat foods out there but this is the only one Nicki will eat). The new steamer is going to make a HUGE difference in how I dye. I could only fit 2 or maybe 3 bundles of roving in my stockpot to steam at once, at 30-45 min per batch you can see how a shop update of 12-15 bundles can take forever. With the new steamer I think I can comfortably fit up to 8 bundles in one batch. What a difference that will make just in time and of course power used. Should make dyeing during the summer a much more pleasant experience. After all who would want to be steaming roving for 3+hours in 90F weather?

I haven’t made much knitting progress lately, in fact I don’t even have any pictures to show you. I cast on for Coupling in my dark teal Opal and didn’t even make it through 2 pattern repeats before it had to be frogged. How I managed to lose 3 whole stitches is beyond me. I’m also doing the Magic cast-on instead of a short row toe. It’s the weirdest thing, I used to love short rows, thought they were wonderful, easy, and all in all the best thing in sock knitting. Now..not so much. Don’t get me wrong, I still like the short row toe/heel just fine but I’m not feeling the love as much anymore.

There was a little progress made in the Mermaid wrap this weekend, Saturday was pretty much a bust and anyone from the VY&T group can probably confirm that I sat there like a zombie for most of the afternoon. The meds the doc gave me on Friday knock me out big time, needless to say I didn’t take any on Sunday until the evening. Don’t worry, these aren’t lifesaving meds, just something to make the mosquito attack from hell more bearable. There is no way I’m taking them 4 times a day when I have to chug tea/coffee/diet coke with chasers of candy bars just to try and stay awake.

If it wasn’t for the hour wait at the airport last night I would never have gotten any knitting done this weekend, as it was the wrap is maybe 7inches long. I think I have a ways to go šŸ™‚

Now if you excuse me I have some roving to dye (12lbs to be exact). If you see me anytime in the next few weeks I apologize now, I have a feeling I might go insane.

