I did it!! I set myself the goal of finishing my Bellatrix socks last night so I could wear them the day the movie came out (yes I’m just THAT geeky).

Bellatrix

The second attempt at grafting finished up around midnight. Yes I said the second attempt. While my kitchener stitch has improved by leaps and bounds since I first tried it almost a full year ago not much can be done except frogging a toe when you miscount and forget an entire pattern repeat on the foot. Sigh.

I loved knitting these socks, I wasn’t sure about the dropped stitches and the potential pooling nightmare of STR but these worked out well I think. I made a couple changes, firstly I don’t like plain knitted heel flaps so I went with the sl1,k1 approach. Secondly because I have freakishly short feet for my shoe size (the person who said that will go unnamed) I made much shorter toes. If I’m reading the pattern correctly it called for decreasing the toe to 12 stitches total and I typically stop at 20-24. 12 stitches would make a very pointy toe IMO and not something that suits my foot shape. Oh and I made shorter cuffs too but only by 1 pattern repeat. It was a great pattern and really an easy knit. I highly recommend going to Socktopia and downloading the free pattern.

I’m very happy with them and I’m wearing them now 😀

Bella and Nicki

Nicki got very excited when I went to take sock photos this morning, I think he likes them better now that they are finished so I can stop using him as a sock model.

Of course being finished with Bellatrix means I can spin without guilt and what is going on the wheel next? Why the Kimono batts from Loop of course! Thank you Sobe, I can’t wait to start spinning.

