Yup you heard me, Icky is done. Before I show you finished pictures though let me show you what I saw outside this morning.

Frost 1 Frost 2

and now time for a nice closeup…

Frost 3

Granted I’m not a huge fan of cold weather and nothing makes me happier to be out of college than finding out Pullman is around 5F but I have to admit I love what winter can do. The ice crystals are just cool. Everything is covered in millions of little frost spikes. Just amazing.

Ok now on to the knitting. Icky almost kicked my butt. I made some mistakes, more than I like to count but not only did it take me 3 weeks to finish but I learned some great new knitting skills. The one I’m proudest of is being able to read my knitting. I’ve never really had to pay that much attention to what I’ve already knit before because they were simplier (or easy to figure out) patterns but the Icarus border really made me SEE my knitting for the first time. As I came across mistakes I could see what should be there and adjust accordingly. My Icarus is far from perfect and if you really want to pick out the problems there are plenty to chose from but I don’t care.

I love it. I love the yarn, I love the colors, I love the pattern. And mostly I love that I made it.

Here it is unblocked. And boy is it true that unblocked lace looks like cat barf.

Icarus unblocked

And here it is in all it’s finished glory.

Finished Icarus

Some closeups…

Icarus detail 1 Icarus

I’m going to have a nice cold diet coke to celebrate now.

