Remember this sad little WIP?

It sat crammed in the bottom of my knitting/spinning basket for a couple months before I finally worked up the nerve to tackle it again. The original pattern called for cutting an 8 inch tail at the end of each row before knitting the next row. I hated that. So I set it aside and when it came time to do it I frogged the pathetic 3-4 rows I had managed to knit. I spit spliced the cut ends back together and voila I had new yarn!

I also adjusted the length of the scarf, the pattern called for 300 stitches plus fringe, I decided to go with 350 stitches and no fringe. Just not a fringe kind of girl. The scarf was cast on and that is when I realized that a 350 stitch row takes FOREVER to knit. I had hoped for this to be bus knitting but on the one day I tried that it took the entire bus ride into work in the morning to knit 1 row. At that rate it was going to take me 2 months to knit the damn scarf. So the scarf stayed home, it traveled to Saturday knitting and to my parents house once or twice but for the most part it was tv knitting.

I love it. I took so many pictures of it this morning. The sunlight that hits my dining table in the morning was perfect for photographing the scarf.

Check out the way the solid Olive and variagated Autumn yarns blend in the linen stitch. I really enjoy how the oranges and pinks make the scarf pop with color yet because the Autumn yarn had a fair bit of green in it the overall appearance is subtle.

Even the back side of the scarf is pretty!

I forgot to take finished measurements this morning (plus I haven’t actually blocked the scarf yet) but the finished size is just about perfect. I had maybe a foot of the Olive yarn left and just a few grams of the Autumn remaining. It’s a great looking scarf and I can’t believe it took me 2 whole weeks to knit. Seemed like an eternity but I’m guessing that is the problem with knitting scarves lengthwise and when you combine that with the compact row height of linen stitch it becomes neverending knitting.

I did do some spinning this last week but an accident with the skeiner has put it out of commission. Dad has been put on the task of giving me skeiner pegs that can stand up to the abuse I apparently put them through. Hopefully by tonight or tomorrow I will have a working skeiner again. However without the skeiner I have no easy way of making skeins of my handspun because I refuse to handwind what might be over 400yards of yarn onto a niddy noddy. I did spin up 4oz of a new fiber I dyed up last week and man it spins like butter. The other braids I dyed in the same session should hopefully go online tonight or tomorrow.

I made a quick trip down to Portland this weekend (which is why I am going to be 2 days late shipping out fiber club) to celebrate a friend’s completion of his masters degree. I enjoyed a delicious blueberry cornbread for breakfast on Saturday, an amazing Lebanese meal for Saturday dinner and a very excellent french bread toast that was coated in cinnamon sugar crushed cornflakes. I always eat well when I visit Portland. On the drive home I saw truck that I needed to photograph.

Sheep in a truck!

(I was driving so I had Giselle take the picture). I have no idea what kind of sheep these might be though.

In other news….the P-Patch garden is still going strong. Despite the odd weather we had this summer (can 2 weeks of warm weather really be called summer?) the zucchini and now the tomatoes are breaking all my previous harvest records.

First we had the motherload of zucchini.

Yes that is a normal sized banana. There were several giant zucchinis this year plus 2 freakish looking ones that grew in funky shapes.

Then last week I stopped by my parents house to check out the first tomato my Mom harvested.

In case you can’t read the numbers on the scale it says 1lb 9 5/8oz. Yes I have a tomato that is almost 26oz in weight. Need another visual for scale?

It FILLs my hand and I like to think I have normal adult sized hands. This is not a petite tomato and yet from what I remember of the seeds I purchased I don’t recall buying any known for their size. This is all organic and this year I only planted heirloom varieties. Just goes to show you don’t need no stinking pesticides or genetically modified seeds to grow your own delicious and impressive produce.

I currently only have 1 project on the needles and that is the Nutkin sock, progress has slowed on that because I wanted the scarf finished. However now that the scarf is done I might have more time for the sock.

Then again I did get a yarny package in the mail yesterday (seriously the front desk person at work is really beginning to wonder about me) that might distract me from the sock. My February Lady Sweater yarn came! I didn’t have a chance to take a picture of it yet but I think this was a good choice. I may need to swatch tonight.

